The further one travels the less one really knows

by davebarclay1954

I like books, I don’t read as much now as I used to, and I’m not sure why. However, I do find that books which keep my attention are the ones which create worlds in word pictures. Whether I am revisiting an oft read classic (Lord of the Rings, for example) or discovering a new multiverse (The Disc World perhaps) the one thing I find is the books tell a story but also describe the world they are set in. (Disc World did this at the beginning of the series in the Colour of Magic but keeps adding new facets with each volume that comes along).

I think I got out of the habit of reading when I started spending my down time with others, focussed more on shared adventures than the written word. Now that I’m alone it seems hard to find any down time, I used to listen to music all day every day and it is still a passion with me but I don’t listen as much today, I find that if I hear something new I still tend to focus on it until I decide that I don’t particularly like it. Mood has a lot to do with my listening habits anyway, so new music which doesn’t fit in with my mood that day won’t be enjoyed as much as on a day when it fits my mood. That’s why I tend to put music I don’t quite get today to one side to pick up again tomorrow or the next day.

I’ve read books which state that to be successful you have to find a passion and follow that path to its conclusion. In other words, find someone who will pay you handsomely for something you would do for free and you’ll never have to work a day again. I gave this my best shot in the 1970’s but it didn’t pay off for me, wrong place, wrong time. The group I was in (The Dogs…) weren’t punk, we could all play for one thing, but we were old school going for extended solo’s on guitar and drums when the world was reverting to old school rock and roll and the 3 minute single. Reproduced in concert and sounding like the recorded tracks. Whether or not the musicians could actually play their instruments or not, our brand of prog was frowned on and we never made it out of the hall into the recording studio.

Given that I’m now 63, unemployed and finding it hard to find something to pay the bills until I can afford to retire (probably at 150 the way everything is falling apart today) I don’t have the money to pay for a streaming service or to buy the music I would like to replace from my many years of collecting vinyl, cassette tapes and compact discs. What is there for a music afficionado? I could create a radio show, but the music I enjoy no longer finds its way onto daytime radio, for a vampire like me that’s not an issue but most night jockeys have chat shows with little to no music, would a radio station take a chance on someone like John Peel today? Probably not, and BBC Radio doesn’t tend to offer DJ contracts to an unknown, even today, for late night shows.

They seemingly learned their lesson the hard way, and even Kenny Everett would find it hard to get a show on BBC radio today. I would welcome the opportunity to follow my music and present this to other like minded people but that isn’t likely to happen anytime soon, if at all.

