Sitting on the bus someone restored my faith that all is not yet lost

by davebarclay1954

I was sitting on the bus heading home tonight when an elderly lady got on the bus, she struggled to walk so I didn’t get up to offer my seat as I didn’t think she’d be able to climb onto it.

She walked past me and past the two men talking by the door, clutched the post and was clinging on for dear life when a young lady in her school uniform stood up and tapped her on the shoulder. When she looked round the young lady said to her “Would you like my seat?” The elderly one said “Yes please” and they swapped places.

This used to happen frequently when I was growing up in the 60’s and 70’s but everything changed in the 80’s with Ronald Reagan and Margaret Thatcher introducing the FU mentality to the Western World.

Why did this take me by surprise? After all I’ve seen it happen before and have given up my seat recently for a person less able than me to stand. It’s just the age of the young lady took me by surprise as she could only have been around 14 or maybe 16. Things recently (Brexit and US Presidential election) have been so full of hatred anyone would think the world is returning to the dark ages of the late 17th century. Then something as innocuous as giving up a seat for someone less able to stand brightens the darkness and restores the faith in our humanity that had been lost.

