My Pride Is Bulletproof: A Queer Puerto Rican on Life After Orlando

by davebarclay1954

Queer? No, freaks? Yes, but so am I. LGBT deserves a place alongside everyone else. Without us freaks and aliens life and the human race would be boring.
As always, please visit the original post to leave comments and read the whole post, let’s undo the hate and fill our lives with love.

Repeating Islands

Screen Shot 2016-06-16 at 11.31.25 PM.pngShooting at Pulse nightclub was an act of terror meant to keep LGBT people in the shadows, Eliel Cruz writes for Rolling Stone.

It could have been me. I could have had my body riddled with bullets, my blood spilled, clothes drenched, crawling for my life on the dance floor of a gay bar.

I had just returned from a Brooklyn gay bar, my queer friends and I dancing with drag queens to celebrate Brooklyn Pride, when I opened Twitter and saw that another shooting was taking place. As I sat on my bed refreshing my timeline trying to find facts it quickly became clear the victims of America’s latest mass violence were Latinx – a gender neutral term for the Latino community – queer individuals.

Forty-nine black and brown queer and allied bodies slain under disco lights by a gunman wielding an assault rifle. Bodies that were once…

View original post 881 more words

