#JusJoJan 31 January 2016

by davebarclay1954

Thought I’d share a thought with you, my dear reader, can you believe that January ends today? Seems like yesterday it was the New Year and here we are at the other end of the month. February still makes me shiver and this is the 57th anniversary of the death of the King of Rock and Roll (Buddy Holly) as fate would have it, my cousin had been teaching me to read and introduced me to the exciting sounds of Buddy and The Crickets, when my uncle came in with the newspaper I decided to put what I’d learned to use and started to read the back page story about the death in a plane crash of Buddy, the Big Bopper and Richie Valance. I knew all 3 stars through their records and enjoyed listening to them all. When I read that no one had survived the crash I had to ask my cousin what that meant, I was only 4 at that time.

Seems people have been dying ever since (I know they weren’t the first musicians to die but they were the first I’d heard of). Anyway so far we’ve lost David Bowie, Natalie Cole, Lemmy and the actor Alan Rickman. All since Xmas. Could this be the year we lose so many of our heroes?

