#JusJoJan Muse and Music

by davebarclay1954

I’ve been sitting here wondering what is going on today. My friends gran passed yesterday morning (13th) and that got me thinking again about music, listening to and enjoying or listening to and becoming inspired.

Of course on Sunday we lost another icon in New York, a month over 25 years since we lost the greatest Beatle of them all in that same city. David Bowie helped me to discover who I was, taught me that it’s alright to drift for a while but you need to climb back on the horse eventually. John Lennon may have provided the soundtrack to my early years (I was 8 when the Beatles started out in 1962) but David Bowie provided me with space sounds (more so than Hawkwind). I saw him live twice in Edinburgh and once in London in the 1970’s, I wanted to go backstage to meet him but by the time I arrived at the stage door the lack of fans told me I was too late. I had never wanted to meet any other star before then but there was something about this man that just struck me (and thousands of others as well).

He wrote songs about films, for films and for us, he took us to new planets, new galaxies and strange worlds. We didn’t have to look far as the lyrics were the catalyst. I know how I’ve been feeling since Monday when I found out he was dead and I can imagine how much worse it is for his family who knew the man I loved from afar. I would not want to intrude on their grief but I just hope that at sometime in the future they can find all the words and posts that have been written about the man and the myth of some comfort.

For myself, I would just like to finish off by reminding everyone that death is not an end, merely the end of life. Birth is the end of incubation in the womb then we are born. After death comes the spiritual life which waits for us all. Some believe in a God of love (we aren’t seeing much love in the world these days) others believe in a God of vengeance (we are seeing a lot of that today). I don’t believe in a God who is the same (or similar) in appearance to us, I believe there is a Supreme Being who made everything and we should try to gain his attention by spreading love and joy everywhere we go. I don’t have any reason for my belief, I have no proof that anyone is creating planets, stars, galaxies, life out there in the wider beyond. No-one has proof that God exists either, no matter what name they call him. If all the religious people are correct and there is one God out there who created everything then surely everyone is worshiping the same God, regardless which name they give him?

In that case why is there so much fighting being done in his name? Whether you call him Jahweh, Jehovah, Allah or God the Father doesn’t his teaching tell you to love all men as you love your brothers and sisters? Shouldn’t we give that a try now instead of fighting wars, no matter what pretence we use to fight them? John Lennon was the first to sing about Love is all you need, David Bowie said that it doesn’t matter whether you are a man or woman, black, white, yellow, brown or gold with purple spots. We are all the same under the skin, we all love the same, whether we love men or women, whether we are straight, gay, transgender, lesbian, or anything in between. We all share the same air, eat the same crops, live in countries where the rich rule the poor. Let’s please work together to make the 21st century the one where famine ends for everyone, where people talk to their neighbours and where we are free to love one another, to worship our Gods as we see fit and to feel that those who break the law will be punished regardless of who they are, how much power they think they have and who they think they have bought off. Sorry for ranting on a bit but I tend to get carried away by my passion.

