#JusJoJan 13 Jan 2016

by davebarclay1954

Well, it’s been 2 days since I found out that David Bowie died from Cancer in New York with his wife (Iman) and son (Duncan) at his side. I still can’t believe it at all, his new album came out 2 days before (on his birthday) and it is the best album I’ve heard this year.

If his life proved anything it is merely that you can achieve anything you put your mind to, he was a fantastic showman, brilliant actor and I’m just proud to say I saw him on the Ziggy Stardust tour, the Aladdin Sane tour and also the Thin White Duke tour. I missed the later tours due to lack of funds but his movie roles were astonishing. On the broadway stage as the Elephant Man he would have been absolutely fantastic (John Lennon commented that he took Yoko to see the play and Bowie was playing it theatre, as an actor, and not as a rock star trying to act – praise indeed).

The man was always aware of his fans, and that fame was not a good mistress, I think that’s why, once he had come off all his crutches (alcohol and drugs) he was always down to earth. I shook his hand at a concert in Edinburgh because he came down off the stage and he looked at me which made me feel as though he appreciated the adulation. I never understood why he was always experimenting and changing his take until the late 70’s and then I totally got it. If you don’t reinvent yourself (Gary Glitter and Alvin Stardust proved that standing still lost your fan-base and killed your career) you would lose in the end.

He lost two friends in 3 years when Marc Bolan died in London and then John Lennon was shot in New York, no-one asked him how he felt at the time but I seem to remember him saying that Marc was a great loss to the world of music at the time in late 1977 when Marc was buried. When Lennon died it affected everyone across the planet in different ways. I’m not sure how David felt at the time but he had been in the studio with John just before Sean’s birth and that led to one of the greatest rock ‘n’ roll tracks of all time: Fame.

Goodbye David, Rest in Peace and may you watch over us all from whichever heaven you have been called to.

