A Poem – “The Definition of Me”

by davebarclay1954

Beauty lies within those filled with love. Sarah, thank you for sharing any of my followers wanting to comment on this please leave them on the original post 💝

Breaking Sarah - Bruised, Not Broken

How does one define oneself?

“Who am I?” is not a simple question.

Am I the little girl in my memory,

the one damaged by human hands,

forced to grow up too soon?

Am I the lonely and insecure teen,

just wanting to be accepted,

only to be teased and shunned?

Am I the hopeful young woman,

trying to find her place in the world,

only to find that nothing seemed to fit?

Am I the hurting, estranged mother,

searching for truth and meaning

in the abundant silence left by her child?

Or am I the middle-aged woman I am today,

finally learning to accept herself,

realizing she has worth after all?

In reality, I am all these individuals,

each adding to the person I have become.

So what is the definition of me?

I am human, and I am ever-changing.

The rest is up to me.

© Sarah S.

View original post

