Say Your Name – prompt from the Daily Post

by davebarclay1954

If you like Tessa, which is a pretty nom-de-plume btw, why not use it? I’m called David, which I hate so have always shortened it to Dave. Some people over the years have called me Davy, or my uncles used to call me Davy Crockett, but I think that’s because one of them was William but was always called “Buff” as in Buffalo Bill. If I could rename myself I’d lose my middle name and just shorten my first name. What do others think?

Advocate for Mental and Invisible Illnesses

Say Your Name

Write about your first name: Are you named after someone or something? Are there any stories or associations attached to it? If you had the choice, would you rename yourself?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My first name is Teresa. Not only do I hate this name, but it is very annoying to have to explain to everyone I meet that no I do not have an “H” in my name. DO NOT! 

If it is already printed, if it is not a legal document I usually just let it go. But legal documents need the correct spelling. Even when it is spelled out in front of them, it is still misspelled often.

I was named after my two grandmothers – Teresa Elizabeth. I asked my parents why didn’t they make it Elizabeth Teresa. I could live with that and there are plenty of nicknames for it. 

I was told that…

View original post 67 more words

