Easter weekend is here!

by davebarclay1954

When I was younger this was a Christian country, yes not everyone here was Christian, white, or even God fearing. However, in these politically correct days, Good Friday is now the Early Spring Bank Holiday. What’s happened to the values we used to share?

I’m not saying I want to return to a society that looks inward, having a multicultural society is good in so many ways. All I want is to return to the systems we knew and loved. I’m not now, and never have been, judgemental of others. I couldn’t care less what religion you follow, the colour of your skin, the company you keep or who you sleep with. Unless that person is under age in which case you deserve to be prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law!

All I want is a return to the values of my youth, this used to be a great country in the eyes of the rest of the world. Even Hitler, that crazy Austrian, knew how weak, but important for peace, the Empire was. I love the multicultural society we now live in, the sights, sounds and smells; I just want to remember our culture and heritage the way the other Europeans do. Yes, having Chinese, Indian, Japanese Asian people living with us and bringing their culture with them has always given us joy. If we cared to look. Similarly bringing those African slave descendants here in the 20th century from the Caribbean enhanced our society, but some were to petty to realise how rich this made us. Now we are welcoming our European neighbours, refugees from the war torn hotspots in the Middle East and, again for the most part, this is enhancing our culture and our country.

There will always be some who come here from oppression, like our Jewish communities, and enjoy living here while keeping to themselves, after all they’ve been through in history that shouldn’t come as a surprise to any. I may not like the way they remain secular, but I will die to defend their right to live in peace. The strongest army is probably the one involved in fewest conflicts of recent times. I would love to live on a planet with no wars, no crime, and where everyone was free to follow their own dreams and ambitions. Is such a thing possible? If it’s not then the human race is doomed, if we can learn to accept each other then, maybe, we have a chance.

