The Rainbows End

by davebarclay1954

Such cynicism from one so young

poetreecreations.wordpress.com

pot of gold 
I saw a beautiful rainbow in the sky
It reminded me of the housewives tales of old
That if anyone could find the rainbows end
They would be sure to find a pot of gold
 
My mother told me this when I was just a child
The thought of the riches filled me with pleasure
When I next saw a rainbow in the sky
I immediately set off to find the treasure
 
Eventually I was able to find the rainbows end
But my hoped for pleasure was not to be
For nowhere could I see a pot of gold
Someone must have got there before me
 
I know now that it was just a housewives tale
One of many which has proven to be untrue
My advice is to take it with a pinch of salt
If anyone tries to tell one to you
Ron Martin

View original post

