Well it’s getting near the end

by davebarclay1954

As 2014 comes to a close it is a time for reflection on the last 12 months, the ups and downs, the laughs, the tears. 2014 was the year I turned 60, it was also the year I started to feel better after a long spell of depression, this culminated in my being offered and accepting a new job. I began to get worried when it took 4 weeks to get my clearance through, then the job I’d been hired to do had been filled as they couldn’t wait for my security clearance. After a further 5 weeks of twiddling my thumbs a new opportunity came my way, it meant travelling to Cambridge and Warrington for a period of 3 months (this was extended from 4 weeks to 3 months and then became 4 months). If I had my doubts about my suitability for this position they were soon dropped when I started learning what the job entailed.

There were opportunities to progress as time went on, I watched as I was being taught how to do the job. Not easy when the access for me had not been granted. This came through 10 days before the new system was piloted. This system is being used widely in the USA and has been opened to 1 hospital in Europe, in the Netherlands, but this is different in so many ways. It’s the first time for the NHS (publicly funded with no charges for those eligible for treatment). It’s also the first hospital to be supported by a third party company. Epic have a contract with the hospital to provide the software, HP (my company) provided the hardware and is supporting this. It’s a 10 year contract so I hope I get the opportunity to stay with it until I retire just after I turn 70.

