It’s been a long, long, time

by davebarclay1954

Now I’m so happy I found you It took a long, long, long time Now I’m so happy to be here

Working long hours spending weeks at a time living out of a suitcase takes its toll on anyone but for someone who has a mental illness and a weak back it can be hell. Still back home now and I’ve been working from home for the last few weeks thank Gods for a boss who allowed me time to heal. I will venture into the office next week since I have 11 days to use up before the end of the year so I will be off from 15 December for 3 whole weeks (2 of which the office is closed anyway). I think I owe it to the rest of the team to make an effort and go in for my last 5 shifts.

I had a whole idea when I started this tonight to apologise, get my feelings out there and then tell a story, without giving too many details. I’m not sure it would work without a little background so here goes, we get sent requests for help via email, given that we’re supporting a Cambridge Hospital from Newcastle it means we rely on the “network” team to give us background information when they email us about a printer problem. I tried pinging the printer in question, no joy. So I tried opening its web site again no joy. I then sent it back to the network team and asked them to go to the pharmacy and make sure the printer was on and had a stock of labels. They immediately sent it back to me saying it was my job to check the printer. When I told them they’d have to reimburse my train fare, clear the 8 hour round trip with my boss AND reimburse my taxi fare to the hospital and back to the train station which would be somewhere in the region of £250 all told. I sent this back to them and heard nothing back. They either found the printer was off or out of labels or both and put it right.

That’s enough for now so I’m going to bed and we can catch up again soon, I hope.

