Is there anybody out there?

by davebarclay1954

Well, the world championship is over for another year, 17 days of snooker, especially at the standard achieved, will bring anyone to the point where they could sleep for a week. I have been so thrilled thinking Ronnie O’Sullivan could lift his third trophy in a row but what a tough player Mark Selby is, when he was down 10-5, I really thought there was no way back against Ronnie, however, he won the last 2 frames to be 10-7 overnight so I knew it was going to be a hard fought final 2 sessions.

Any road up, as the actress said to the bishop, it was close fought right to the end and Mark Selby has, at last, got his name on the triple crown. Good luck to him and Ronnie next season and I hope they both do well.

On a lighter note, I spent the last couple of weeks in Scotland, visiting family, for my 60th. My dad and both brothers pushed the boat out for me. I thanked them all at the time for making this one so special. I just wish I could get to see them all more often. My dad is beginning to look really frail so I will try to get up again soon. Now that my youngest brother has retired at 53 I really have no excuse.

Well that brings my tale fully up to date, more posts will follow over the next few days and weeks, especially as I have recovered from the past fortnight!

