I’ll drink some of yours, if you’ll drink all of mine

by davebarclay1954

Well, summer has gone, weather is unsettled, gales expected tomorrow. At least we had a summer this year. I must be getting old though, as the cooler temperatures make me feel absolutely terrible. Pains in my joints, bones and all through my body let me know how much I miss the warmth. In an ideal world I’d be able to go somewhere warmer for the winter or at least have the heating on for warmth.

Okay, enough about me, let’s step up a gear and look for something cheerful, the good thing about living in England is the seasons are very visible here. In the Spring you see the crocuses flower, along with the daffodils, in the summer (usually) it rains almost non stop through the cricket season, or else we have lots of warm sunny days interspersed with some wet and warm ones. Occasionally we will have a totally warm/hot summer with little or no rain, Autumn (or Fall) the leaves on the trees turn from green to brown looking beautiful as they change, then they fall making a carpet on the ground. These should be left to rot into the roots to provide nourishment through the long winter months, sadly most of our forests and woodlands have disappeared to make concrete jungles for our ever expanding population. Then we have winter, the temperature drops, sometimes below zero, if we’re lucky we have beautiful snow covered scenery to take our minds off the cold.

I think we are lucky here that this island is small so there are never the extreme temperature differences as, for example, Russia or the Northern USA, but at the same time, there is beauty out there if we only open our eyes to it. I know I can’t talk as I have been walking around with eyes closed for a while. I used to be able to go out and have fun, up until a few years ago. I’m not sure what happened to me, but now I feel older than my years almost as if I’m getting ready to meet my old friend for the last time. Would I welcome DEATH this time? Yes I would as it would end my pain. I’ve shaken hands with him so often in the past that I consider him a friend rather than an acquaintance. I know he has to come eventually as all things born have their own cycle just as the seasons do.

