I’m feeling truly humbled

by davebarclay1954

I’d like to start off by saying a huge thank you to all the new followers I’ve gained, and to thank all those who are already following this blog. As a complete madman, thank you all so much. I will try to keep myself together from now on but I’m not promising as, anyone who has followed me for a while will attest to this, I keep forgetting what I wasn’t going to write about until its done and ready to publish.

As my good friend and mentor once told me, suffer from a mental illness and no-one cares, find some like minded people, become famous and still nobody gives a shit about your mental illness as long as it allows you to keep being creative! Sadly, Syd Barrett is no longer with us.

Anyway, I was going to write this blog tonight (this morning?) in order to get my thoughts in order (sorry pun was intended) I decided to have a look at my notifications and discovered I’ve got another 15 followers, mind blowing stuff. I know I was popular at school and afterwards but I’ve never had a fan base before. Mind I’m not sure this counts as a fan base but I hope you know what I’m trying to say.

Words can be misinterpreted and we all know that, especially written words. Anyway who thinks hearing something can be jumbled quicker than the written word should remember with written words punctuation is key. For example in the sentence “Queen Mary was laughing and joking thirty minutes after her head was cut off”, 2 well placed commas can make more sense out of it. Answers on a stamped undressed elephant to the usual place with the answers please.

Okay my dear people, here are my thoughts randomly selected from somewhere in my memory bank. If someone is born in one country, brought up in another one and educated in a third, does he have dual nationality, triple nationality, or is he just a fully paid up subscriber to the human race?

Why is it called rush hour when nothing moves? If John is a farmer then he will sow seeds, Mary is a tailor so she sews, if they’re both sowers/sewers why can we say it but not write it? Why is midnight known as the witching hour as it doesn’t exist on a 24 hour schedule, time goes from 23:59 to 00:01, midnight should be 00:00 but that can’t be correct as, surely, there can no longer be a time zero, that must have been when the Big Bang occurred.

We all remember where we were and what we were doing whenever cataclysmic events occur, why can’t we remember unimportant dates the same? Now I’ve asked the questions that were keeping me awake I feel quite tired so think I’ll poodle off to bed, goodnight one and all, if anyone knows any of the answers please feel free to tell me on the back of a £50 note is preferable but smaller donations will also be accepted.

