I’m the urban spaceman baby

by davebarclay1954

Well, what a busy few days! I’ve not had time to sit and think far less write a blog, and it’s more of the same tomorrow… I don’t know seems I am either sitting around for hours at a time or else I don’t stop with people coming to the door every five minutes to make sure I’m ok, or else I’m the one going off doing the visiting.

Any road up, as the actress said to the bishop, I thought that I’d try something different and, since the snow has gone temporarily, show pictures of some of the local sights. so here goes:

Image

 

This is the Crown Posada, it’s a pub in a listed building and has a lot of character.

Image

 

The Long Bar, as the name suggests is not located in a wide building but is rather long. It’s round the corner from Central Station and is mobbed on Friday and Saturday nights.

Image

 

The Old George has an exceptional facade and is another pub in the city centre of Newcastle. Not far from the toon there is an area called Spital Tongues and the pub there dates back to the late 19th century but looks older…

Image

 

Not surprisingly the pub is called Spital House. It’s a warm and friendly pub (or it was when I used to go there) and has theme nights almost all week.

Image

 

The Strawberry is a rough pub, located across the road from St James’ Park it fills up with match goers before the game and you can tell kick off is getting near when it suddenly empties out.

Image

 

The Fighting Cocks is located in Byker, a much derided part of the city, it is nowhere near as bad as some other areas of the city but it does require some major refurbishment work.

Ok that’s all the pubs, I’m going to show just now, details of all of Newcastles pubs are available on the internet. Next time some of our iconic bridges will feature.

