Here we are again sitting on a cornflake

by davebarclay1954

When I find myself sinking down in a sea of depression it feels like drowning in a bowl of shark infested custard, weird analogy I know but my sense of weird is all I have left before I sink into a murky seedy world no-one should ever visit. I am still waiting for the happy pills to kick in, so who knows why I’m on here writing this blog at this time…

I find that listening to the music of my youth helps to relieve some of the dark thoughts that keep coming as I’m sinking down into the murk, usually at any rate. The best of the 60’s (Beatles, Stones, Kinks, Small Faces) especially the psychedelic stuff from 1966 onwards (1967 with the Small Faces) helps me to recapture the acid fueled trips of my teenage years. I gave up taking LSD when I discovered my trips were dependant on my mood at the time of taking, if I was “up” then I had a good trip, however, if I was “down” then the trips were terrible and sometimes without a guide!

What is the point of today’s blog? I hear you ask dear reader (I hope you’re still with me even though I’m writing who knows what and who knows what for). I’m just putting down here my feelings at the moment, that’s all I can do when the blackness comes, along with the voices, music often drowns the voices out but not always and today is one of those days when it doesn’t. I know the voice is inside my head and not from anyone here with me but that doesn’t make them shut up. Conversely they get louder and today is one of those days. As a great person once said “If you can’t take me at my worst, then you don’t deserve me at my best” (thank you Cydara for reminding me of that phrase).

If you can get paid for doing something you enjoy then you’ll never have to work another day in your life. I just wish someone would pay me for listening to music and giving my honest opinion of it, all reviews are personal to the person giving them so should be ignored unless you know the reviewer shares the same passion for the same groups/artists as you. Maybe this would be a good time to publish as I feel the need to lie down…

Image

